Strange Bedfellows

SB_Card_front

Strange Bedfellows is a nationally traveling exhibition and catalogue exploring collaborative practice in queer art making curated by Amy Cancelmo. The project is fiscally sponsored by the Queer Cultural Center and will be presented first at  Root Division, (San Francisco) as part of the National Queer Arts Festival in June of 2013. It will arrive in Chicago (Feb 2014) as the sponsored exhibition of the Queer Caucus for the Arts at A+D Gallery (619 S. Wabash Ave, Chicago, Il 60605) then it travels to Ithaca College’s Handwerker Gallery (upstate New York) March 17 – April 11, 2014.
Works include local archivist, queer historian and producer Joseph Varisco of JRV MAJESTY Productions Queer Lexicon, an oral history series started in 2012 documenting the lives of Chicago’s queer luminaries and their varied works. Queer Lexicon has interviewed over 50 influential LGBTQIA & Gender Non-Conforming culture makers has been heard on Vocalo (90.7FM Chicago), partnered with StoryCorps and recently was the recipient of the Pollination Project Grant. The subjects featured include inaugural interviewee Jackie Boyd director of Chicago’s Queer Choir and co-founder of Project Fierce Chicago, a grassroots agency developing housing for trans youth; H. Melt author of SIRvival in the Second City: Transqueer Chicago Poems and writer for Original Plumbing; and fashion designer GNAT (Gnat Brilmyer) Point Scholar, SAIC’s The Walk Fellowship recipient and Bernhard Willhelm intern.

Participating Artists Include:

Bren Ahearn : brenahearn.com
Jesse Kahn: jessekahncreative.com
Chicago IRL: chicagoirl.com
E.G. Crichton: egcrichton.ucsc.edu
Sean Fader: seanfader.com
JRV MAJESTY Productions: jrvmajesty.tumblr.com
Alex Hernandez: hernalex.com
Sarah Hirneisen: sarahhirneisen.com
Darin Klein: http://www.darinklein.net
Amos Mac: amosmac.com
Tara Mateik: http://www.taramateik.com
Julianna Huxtable LaDosha: houseofladosha.com
billy ocallaghan: billyverse.com
Adrienne Skye Roberts: adrienneskyeroberts.wordpress.com
Annie Sprinkle & Beth Stephens: loveartlab.com
Julie Sutherland: juliesutherland.net
Tina Takemoto: ttakemoto.com
Angela Ellsworth: aellsworth.com
Chris Vargas & Greg Youmans: fallinginlovewithchrisandgreg.com
Angie Wilson & Amber Straus: angiewilson.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s